Don’t Let Comparison Steal Your Joy

I love to curl up in the middle of my bed, cuddled under my duvet with my pillows supporting my back and blog.

I don’t get to do this often enough because after supper, clean up, bath time, & getting little man settled into his bed I am either too tired to focus on blogging or left with a million toys to clean up, a pile of laundry to fold, floors to be swept or my husband wants to sit down and watch TV.

Tonight my husband is gone out, I’m not overly tired, the toys are cleaned, and the pile of laundry can wait.

So tonight my blog post is on a quote I saw on Pinterest.

Don’t Let Comparison Steal Your Joy.

Those six words have truly made an impact on my life because in society today we flaunt what we have on Facebook or flash our new phone/car/(insert the item you wish you had) all around just asking for others to be jealous. I can scroll through my newsfeed and ask myself well why do they have a new house with shiny faucets or a car that’s bigger than mine, and spend my whole day down because the life I currently am living is different from theirs. Here is the issue, just because they have those things doesn’t mean they are living a better life than me, perhaps they are living in thousands of dollars of debt, or beyond the world of social media their marriage is falling apart, or maybe they just aren’t happy.

I have a healthy family, a warm place to live, a roof over my head. I am happy.

If I choose to compare my life to those around me I am robbing myself of that happiness. I am personally making the choice to let comparison steal my joy, and it isn’t going to give me what they have. I have the right to joy and my family deserves for me to embrace that.

So you don’t have a big SUV, or a 4 bedroom house with a shiny faucet, or whatever it is you find yourself wishing for, remember that God has a plan for your life and in time he will give you what you need. Comparing his plan for your life to your neighbours, or cousins, or high school enemy, will only bring you down.

Be content with what you have. If you are meant to have more it is already worked into your life plan.

Tomorrow when you find yourself wishing you had what someone else does, Don’t let comparison steal your joy.

d04bfbe6628bc2c55c50dfdd674589c3

Leave a Reply

