Dear Graysen. Love Always Mom.

Tonight it is quiet and I am writing for you. Maybe someday you will come across this, or someone will show it to you. Reality is you never know when life is going to end and this may end up being more precious than I ever could have imagined.

You my dear are the most amazing blessing. I want you to know I love you. I have learned so many things already watching you grow from 8 pounds 7 ounces and 22 inches to 23 pounds and 32 inches. In the past year you have gone from being completely dependent on your parents to learning to roll, crawl, walk, and run. You already have 8 teeth and you are currently getting more. You have taught me to never take the little moments for granted. I appreciate every momma.. even if you are screaming your head off for me. It reminds me that you are mine and I am responsible for this incredible human being. Together with your father we must teach you the ways of the world, the rights and wrongs, the difference between black and white, that is terrifying and yet it excites me. I hope we do a good job and raise you to become a responsible adult who does well in life. I pray for you and the man you will become everyday.

You have been blessed with some fantastic people in your life. Never let them go and always show them the respect they deserve. One of them can be gone in the blink of an eye and you will never get to say the things you want, always tell them you love them. I don’t care if you think you have too many aunts, call them all often, they care about you and want to know how you are. I don’t care if you are in university and its not cool… either is smoking and I am sure you’ll try that. Your grandparents have brought up wonderful children (your father and I included!) never disrespect them, always tell them you love them, and visit often.

Go to school and do well. Something I wish I would have cared about in high school. Don’t do drugs. They will destroy you. Get involved in things. They will teach you who you are and what you want to do in life. Read the bible. There are so many lessons to be learned in that book and  love and faith to learn about that you won’t find anywhere else. Make friends that you keep through thick and thin. and girls well… that my son is a topic for another day. If you meet a girl you like, treat her with respect, listen to her, and think with your head not any other body part. (For more on that lesson consult your father.)

More than anything remember that life can pass you by in an instant. So take these words I wrote for you and read them often. I love you sweet boy, through the happy and sad, through the healthy and sick, there is nothing you can ever do that will change my love for you.

In April when you were just 3 months old we went to visit Nan & Gomps and I wrote this for you. Now that we live here these memories are becoming part of your story but I know there are more and I can’t wait to discover them with you.

These are the streets I know so well. These are the parks I played and fell. Those are the chairs Gomps sat and stories he did tell. And these are the places memories were made, the hours we spent playing until the sun did fade. I hope these things for you too my son, the stories told, the hours played, and sun kissed skin. Find streets you love, and trees to climb and Graysen make a million memories cause time sure does fly.

I love you forever,

Mom. xo.

2 thoughts on “Dear Graysen. Love Always Mom.

Leave a Reply

